Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland: Believe It or Not!

The Giant's Causeway, Northern Ireland (see p. 139) The Giant's Causeway, Northern Ireland (see p. 139) The UK is a union of four countries: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. England has long dominated the other countries politically and this has affected Welsh, Scottish and Northern Irish attitudes to the English.

On page 137 you can read about some peculiar aspects of the three smallest countries of the UK. Here is one for each of them:

  1. The national animal of Scotland is the unicorn. Used in Scottish coats of arms since the Middle Ages, it is a symbol of purity and strength.
  2. The letters K, Q, V and Z do not appear in the Welsh alphabet.

  3. On average, it rains 157 days a year in Belfast. There is a good reason why Ireland is often called the Emerald Isle!



Spectacular scenery

Here are some videos from Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland that will probably make you want to go there. Watch in full-screen mode and preferably with earphones on ...